The JazzKatz Orchestra is a 14 piece ensemble that features the sultry sounds of Whitney Shay. The ensemble emulates the styles and sounds of the big band era. 


The JazzKatz took their first initial steps in December 2012 by the direction of David Hayes. Initially known as the "JazzKatz Project," David aimed to bring back the big band sounds by assembling San Diego's finest musicians to help his dream come true. In the later year of 2014, David stepped down his leadership role to reside as a representative of the brand line Sax Dakota and the JazzKatz went dormant for a couple of years.

Inspired by the enthusiasm and dedication of the musicians who were patiently waiting, Chaz Cabrera decided that it was time for the Katz to shine again. Chaz rebrand the group as the "JazzKatz Orchestra" and brought back most of the original members including the talented vocalist Whitney Shay to help him lead this group to be known as one of San Diego's finest jazz ensemble in town.   


Chaz Cabrera

Director, Arranger

Whitney Shay

Vocalist, Co-Leader

Chris Klich

Alto Sax, Soprano Sax. Flute, Clarinet

Josh Smitley

Alto Sax, Soprano Sax, Flute, Clarinet

Ross Rizzo

Tenor Sax, Flute, Clarinet

Chris Lehnig

Social Marketing, Baritone Saxophone

Jordan Morita


Shirley Coggon


John Ralston

Bass Trombone

Paul Seaforth

Lead Trumpet, Flugelhorn

Steven Ebner

Trumpet, Flugelhorn

Jack Lang

Trumpet, Flugelhorn

Jodie Hill

Double Bass

Josh Vasquez


Hans Chamberlain


Bob Weller



David Hayes

Greg Sorcsek

David Burnett
Ron King

Krista Timberlake

Daniel Bourget

In dedication to...

Dave Chamberlain